WEEKDAYS Lauren's Little Orca Pod

Lake City, WA

I provide a calm, organized and beautiful space for your young children to feel safe and cared for. We learn about respecting ourselves, others and the environment. My hope is to see them play, socialize, laugh and learn.

Program Details

Type of Program


Preferred Ages

2 year olds – 4 year olds

Location Type

In my home

Program Description

I enjoy observing children closely to learn about their interests and then present to them developmentally appropriate activities, independently or in a group. Activities are presented on open shelves for children to choose their own work and follow their interests. Children learn to put activities back onto shelves and how to work and play well together.


Free play with open ended toys and montessori materials.
Art, Nature Education, Early Literacy, Early Math, Gross Motor skills

Sample Schedule

8:30am 9:00amDrop off and morning snack
9:00am 11:00amFree Play, individual/group lessons, Weekly Baking Projects
11:00am 11:30amStory, song and snack
11:30am 12:00pmOutside play time, big body movements, yoga, obstacle course
12:00pm 1:00pmLunch, play, clean up
1:00pm 1:30pmPick up

Taught by Lauren Watkins

Background Check Confirmed

My name is Lauren Simone, my nephew and young children like to call me "Lolo". I’m 33 years old, born and raised in Cape Town, South Africa. I would love to teach your children about my hometown and culture.

I’ve lived in Seattle for almost 9 years with my husband and 4 year old daughter, Isabelle. We live in the Lake City Way neighborhood, in North East Seattle.

We love the Pacific North West, the outdoors and travel. Our daughter just started riding a bicycle without training wheels!

On weekends, we hike, bike ride and enjoy short walks through green spaces. We love to cook, bake, entertain, read and spend time together as a family.

I received a Bachelors in Media, Writing and English Literature from the University of Cape Town (UCT). After graduating I worked in Health Communications at UCT for 3 years before immigrating to the United States and moving to Seattle at 24.

I have 12 years of experience working with children, 3 years of nanny experience and 7 years working with Preschoolers. I have a passion for the preschool ages and believe they are the foundation for a healthy and joy-filled childhood and adulthood.

I want every child to play, enjoy their childhood and to be respected and loved. I am fascinated with how capable children are - if given a nurturing and prepared environment, they can really thrive. I am currently employed as a Teachers Assistant at a Montessori preschool in North East Seattle. Prior to that, I worked as a Professional Nanny and have done volunteer work with children and adolescents.

For three years, I thoroughly enjoyed being a stay at home Mom (2015-2018) while staying actively involved in my daughter’s Co-operative Preschool in Seattle for two years. There I worked as a teacher’s aid and communications coordinator. I participated in Parent Education classes in early childhood development offered by North Seattle Community College. There, I learned about positive discipline and gentle parenting. I am fascinated with the social-emotional intelligence of children. In my daughter’s final year at Co-op, I was also on the School Board and served as the Communications coordinator.

Recently I was inspired to start my own playgroup. I thoroughly enjoyed working in a Montessori classroom with an amazing Lead Teacher for the last year and a half. Based on the knowledge and experience I have gained by observing and interacting with preschoolers over the last 7 years, I feel confident leading a small group of my own!

Cost & Availability

Full Day$1,000 per month
Part Time$720 per month


Monday8:00am – 2:00pm
Tuesday8:00am – 2:00pm
Wednesday8:00am – 2:00pm
Thursday8:00am – 2:00pm
Friday8:00am – 2:00pm

Program Location Details

We live on a quiet dead end street in Lake City Way, North East Seattle. We have a large basement which we are converting into the Orca's Pod. We used to host international exchange students before Covid. My house offers a cozy family style setting for play based learning, using some inspiration from the montessori method.

All furniture is child sized. All toys are open ended and thoughtfully selected.

We have a lovely terraced front garden and a spacious backyard for children to explore.

I clean and sanitize everyday.

Find a childcare program near you